Close

User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    6S Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,017
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Switched Power Fuse Pannel

    SUBMITTED BY AC66BRONCO

    This is for anyone running a lot of accessories and would like to have the power distributed all from one source

    I went http://www.delcity.net these guys are great to deal with

    Parts Needed:
    One Relay Harness
    One Relay
    Fuses
    One Fuse Panel
    Wire. If you are doing this project and need to order wire you fail

    Ok this is fairly straight forward.

    1 Run the wire from number 87 on the relay harness to the center stud. This is going to send power to all the fuses.
    2 Run the wire from number 85 on the relay harness to the bottom stud. This is going to be the ground run another wire to your chassis someplace.
    3 Run the wire from number 30 on the relay harness directly to the battery. This is going to be your power source ya doof.
    4 Run the wire from number 86 on the relay harness to a switched 12 source. I am going to use the red wire for the radio. This will turn off all your accessories with the ignition.

    I went a little further and drilled my panel and JB welded the harness block to the panel itself so its all self containd




    summit and jegs all want 50-75 dollars for only a 6 circuit

    this can all be done for 25 dollars
    PLEASE DO NOT SEND PM's TO THIS USER. YOUR MESSAGE WILL NOT BE RECEIVED.

    THIS ACCOUNT IS NOT MONITORED, AND IS CONTROLLED BY THE FORUM SOFTWARE

  2. #2
    6S Moderator S.Bretz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Lutz, Fl
    Posts
    15,226
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Switched Power Fuse Pannel

    That fuse block looks similar to the one I got from Napa..it was around $30 after tax.

    I found a 100 amp continous relay in the Grainger catatlog. It looks like an old school starter relay, but it can operate all the time rather then a starter relay that is limited to 20-30 seconds...hence the "continuous". I don't remember how much I payed for the heavy duty relay.

    If you are planing on running more then 30amps, don't use a regular relay like ACCbronco shows. It will slowly "cook" itself, find something that is rate for at least 10-20 amps over amount of current that you plan to run.


    Edit: 100amp relay part number from grainger: 6C017

    http://www.grainger.com
    -6S Resident Mechanical Forensics member #001.
    1995 SC2 Turbo 3.6L DOHC, 6sp manual, Ford 8.8 rearend running on MS3x.
    1998 F-250 5.4L triton...stock.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I need to rig one of these up in my truck.

  4. #4
    6S Staff redhotFTW!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL
    Posts
    10,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do I. I built a set up like the OP in my red hot for about $18 bucks total.
    Black 2006 Cobalt SS/SC
    ZZP | GMPP |EBC |GM Stg2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •