Close

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Noob here, question about battery for my 97 SL

    I recently acquired a 12" Kenwood sub with a 1000w Sony xplode amp and a wiring kit that needs to connect to battery terminals. However it seems that my 97 SL's battery doesn't have regular terminals with clamps, but instead screw in wires that seem incompatable with what is needed for my wiring kit. Do I need to get a new battery and change my cable heads? Or what? I have no idea and I've never done anything like this before, and trying to google it didn't help

  2. #2
    silver01sw2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    159
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The easiest way around this would be to get a dual terminal battery. A lot of the agm style batts have this setup. Probably better to run the amp from a dedicated post also. When I ran a winch on my old jeep, the school of thought was to run a high amp draw like that from its own source on the battery instead of piggybacking it off the cables the vehicle uses to run. The one I bought for my jeep is an Exide Orbital. Optima makes the red and yellow tops too. These are more expensive batteries, but the advantage is they're made with a spiral wound core and filled with gel instead of acid. Makes them a little more durable. Also means you can buy them online and they can be shipped without any extra bs.

  3. Likes missionsminded07 liked this post
  4. #3
    nad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Clearwater, MN
    Posts
    1,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by silver01sw2 View Post
    The easiest way around this would be to get a dual terminal battery.

    Wrong.

    The esiest thing to do would be to attach one of these to your amp power wire and put it between the battery and the power wire for your car...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Quote Originally Posted by alexofnazareth View Post
    Do the world a favor and get back to your cornholing.

  5. Likes rubensw2 liked this post
  6. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for that. I'm going to go check the battery store down the road after work today so I can get one!

  7. #5
    silver01sw2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    159
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by nad View Post
    Wrong.

    The esiest thing to do would be to attach one of these to your amp power wire and put it between the battery and the power wire for your car...
    Perhaps that is the easiest way, but it seems like a better solution to run a high amp draw off of a separate terminal.

  8. #6
    Fullnelson13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    St. Paul
    Posts
    737
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Get gm lugs that have accesorry bolts for $5

  9. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Innisfil, ON
    Posts
    2,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ^^ this

    Replace the factory positive bolt , it will screw into the battery like normal. Then have female threads at the end so you can put a bolt with lug ends on it feeding what ever you want.
    What it looks like:
    http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/automo...ontent=Default
    http://our6thplanet.com/
    40 something saturns.. oh who fraking counts anymore

  10. Likes Fullnelson13 liked this post
  11. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    23
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same issue with my old sc1
    I tried the small terminal on the wire to allow it to screw between the battery. But the amp wire got red hot once it got power. So instead of getting higher gauge wire, i changed the battery terminal to one that allowed me to install the extra wire on a extra post. No red hot wire, and cheaper than higher gauge.

  12. #9
    trottida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    182
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The two recommended places to tap into power for auxiliary purposes are....

    1. ON TOP of the OEM ring connector at the underhood fuse box.
    2. ON TOP of the POS battery cable and ALT charge wire terminal "sandwich" at the starter.

    Use a ring connector like nad suggests and it would be a good idea to add an appropriate sized in-line fuse right after that connector in case your wire ever is compromised and touches the body.
    Last edited by trottida; 01-05-2016 at 01:33 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •