Close

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 34 of 34
  1. #21

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    705
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm missing something here, I understand the Obd1 icm pinout, but don't see the obd2 icm pinout.

  2. #22
    sexyjew TruboSC2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mount Juliet, TN
    Posts
    838
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's right there in the diagram


  3. #23

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hammond , Louisiana
    Posts
    1,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Question: sharing the CPS with the factory computer: Since shielding is important for this cable, how does factory get away without it, and would the factory cable being unshielded interfere with megasquirt operations since the computer doesnt filter like the factory? (or thereabouts?)

  4. #24
    siris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,075
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by leighv View Post
    Question: sharing the CPS with the factory computer: Since shielding is important for this cable, how does factory get away without it, and would the factory cable being unshielded interfere with megasquirt operations since the computer doesnt filter like the factory? (or thereabouts?)
    All the more reason to run an obd1 ICM, let it filter and give a clean tach signal for the MS to use.
    72 Charger: pissed me off, on jackstands.
    95 SW1m: Dohc swap. DD. I can haz boost?

  5. #25
    ajs_saturn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Posts
    247
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's also why you want to solder as close to the connector as possible.
    -2001 SL1 5spd. 02/14-present (DOHC swap, boosted @ 7psi, running on Megasquirt 3 v3.57)

  6. Likes TruboSC2 liked this post
  7. #26
    sexyjew TruboSC2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mount Juliet, TN
    Posts
    838
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All you would need is a VR conditioning board. You can share the signal directly of the connector and it'll be fine. That'll still drive everything else in the car like alternator and tach. You can wire it either way you want. There is no right way or wrong way to go with obd1 and obd2 icm, I just prefer the ms to be directly wired to everything and the pcm to be "piggy back". There is 5 or 6 people ruining the obd2 icm set up with out issues right now.

  8. #27
    HNIC SC2Sick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    Posts
    11,016
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    4
    Mentioned
    36 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    +1 on through VR conditioner. It's magical
    Sixthsphere.com Owner
    2003 BMW e46
    1997 Saturn SC2 Turbocharged - Build Thread
    1998 Ford Ranger

  9. Likes TruboSC2 liked this post
  10. #28
    sexyjew TruboSC2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mount Juliet, TN
    Posts
    838
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So long story short do what you have your ms set up for. Hall is OBD1 and VR is OBD2. I prefer VR because it's easy

  11. #29

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hammond , Louisiana
    Posts
    1,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine is OBDII.

    So TLDR is: get VR conditioner and use a shielded wire to the crank sensor for microsquirt, leaving the factory wire in place so it can drive the tachometer.

  12. Likes TruboSC2 liked this post
  13. #30
    HNIC SC2Sick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    Posts
    11,016
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    4
    Mentioned
    36 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by leighv View Post
    Mine is OBDII.

    So TLDR is: get VR conditioner and use a shielded wire to the crank sensor for microsquirt, leaving the factory wire in place so it can drive the tachometer.
    That's what I'm doing yeah.

    For easier install get the CPS extension from a 3rd gen DOHC also

    You can solder and shrink it cleanly outside of the car then plug it into the middle.
    Sixthsphere.com Owner
    2003 BMW e46
    1997 Saturn SC2 Turbocharged - Build Thread
    1998 Ford Ranger

  14. Likes TruboSC2 liked this post
  15. #31

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello all
    I am just about to purchase MS3X v3.57. I have a few questions but let me tell you what i have and my plans so far.

    What I Have:
    1996 SC2
    MP3 Trans
    Stock engine bored .020 over
    and i have put a turbo into it.
    I grabbed some orange volvo injectors from the junk yard that are supposed to be 30#

    My Plans:
    For the wiring I plan on laying a second harness next to the stock one
    I will be using the OBD2 ICM
    I am looking for about 240hp but anything over 225hp will make me happy
    Only 7-8psi of boost because stock internals (a forged internal engine is in the books but not for a while)
    I would like to run COP eventually
    I also would like to convert to E85 Flex Fuel

    My Questions:
    1- is there any changes that need to be made to this wiring diagram for my setup? I am thinking no

    2- Should I use Megasquirt's internal MAP sensor or an external one?

    3- For MS3X v3.57 with an OBD2 ICM I would want to run VR correct? I am thinking yes
    3.1- If I run VR do I still need to worry about the shielded CPS wire or any of the resistor stuff that TurboSC2 mentioned?
    3.2- Would I need a VR Conditioner?
    3.2.1- where do i get a VR Conditioner? Diyautotune? link please

    4- Where do most people mount their megasquirt boxes? Engine Bay, Glove Box, Stock ECU Location...

    5- The speedometer maxes out at 130mph and the car has a governor at 120mph, after MS is installed and the speed governor is gone what do I do if I want to go faster than 130mph?
    5.1- Will the speedometer break or get damaged?
    5.2- Is there a way to re-calibrate the stock speedometer?

    thank you for your help

  16. #32
    sexyjew TruboSC2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mount Juliet, TN
    Posts
    838
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1: Ms3 will provode its own pin out diagram on the ms unit. Buy their pre assembled wiring harness to make it crazy simple.

    2: use the 2.5bar map built into the MS unit. That will be plenty for a stock boosted engine.

    3: The pre assembled wiring harness will already be shielded wire for VR hook up. Ms3 does not require alternative VR conditioner because MS3 already has it built in and no resistor pots.

    4: mount the ECU in a dry place where it can't be bounced jounced or kicked. The rest is up to you. The engine bay wouldn't be wise due to ms3 not being water proof or shock proof. I mounted mine to the HVAC box back in the day. Many put them in their glove box.

    5: the MS3 will have ultimate control over the engine so yes no more limiter from the stock PCM. but limit that poor engine to 7000 rpm please. The Speedo will still work by itself because its controlled by the BCM.

    Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk

  17. #33

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TruboSC2 View Post
    1: Ms3 will provode its own pin out diagram on the ms unit. Buy their pre assembled wiring harness to make it crazy simple.

    2: use the 2.5bar map built into the MS unit. That will be plenty for a stock boosted engine.

    3: The pre assembled wiring harness will already be shielded wire for VR hook up. Ms3 does not require alternative VR conditioner because MS3 already has it built in and no resistor pots.

    4: mount the ECU in a dry place where it can't be bounced jounced or kicked. The rest is up to you. The engine bay wouldn't be wise due to ms3 not being water proof or shock proof. I mounted mine to the HVAC box back in the day. Many put them in their glove box.

    5: the MS3 will have ultimate control over the engine so yes no more limiter from the stock PCM. but limit that poor engine to 7000 rpm please. The Speedo will still work by itself because its controlled by the BCM.

    Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
    https://www.diyautotune.com/product/...ms2-ms3-ready/
    this is the pre assembled harness you are talking about correct?

    and the wiring diagram in that page is the one i need to follow?

  18. #34
    sexyjew TruboSC2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mount Juliet, TN
    Posts
    838
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TTNilsson View Post
    https://www.diyautotune.com/product/...ms2-ms3-ready/
    this is the pre assembled harness you are talking about correct?

    and the wiring diagram in that page is the one i need to follow?
    Are you having it built? If so ask Matt at diy to provide the correct harness but yes that's the generic harness. All the diy harness are labeled of which sensor they go to. Don't over think it. The pin out diagram may be different from my diagram to yours. Get all the info from DIY of your schematics. Other than that the sensor side of the wiring will be the same.😎

    Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •