Close

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Rough Idle?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Rough Idle?

    I just got my car running and I think its got a miss. However, this is my first non-tock build so I could be wrong. It's essentially a deebs motor with the twin intake mod. Head was shaved 40 thousands. No SES light. When you rev it, it smooths out. If it is rough...any thoughts as to where I should look?

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Byc...ew?usp=sharing

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, ppl over on fb are saying the guide is wrong. I should have shifted two teeth,not one. No where on here is there a ref to that...

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, so I'm an idiot. Turns out i had a fairly big exhaust dp leak as well as a vacuum leak. Got those situated and it's running much smoother now.

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, so it still runs like shit. I'm thinking TPS is bad. It idles great cold, as soon as it goes closed loop it starts to lope. Off idle, it runs really strong but if I hold the rpms steady the SES light comes on. Change rpms and the light goes away. Gonna end up troubleshooting this thing on the road....lol

  5. #5
    siris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Without live data your throwing darts Ithe dark.
    72 Charger: pissed me off, on jackstands.
    95 SW1m: Dohc swap. DD. I can haz boost?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by siris View Post
    Without live data your throwing darts Ithe dark.
    Is a tech 2 the only way to scan odb1? I have a Bluetooth scanner for odb2 that i use the torque all with. I'm pretty sure it doesn't work on older cars. I know about the paperclip trick to get codes.... don't know how to live scan...

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    siris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    72 Charger: pissed me off, on jackstands.
    95 SW1m: Dohc swap. DD. I can haz boost?

  8. Likes leadfootny liked this post
  9. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    See if an auto parts store in your area lends out a scan-tool that does both OBD 1 & 2. I've done this on a 92 Cavalier and an 87 Chevy 1/2 ton. Does a decent job. I think the tool I used was an Innova. However, I bought a used Snap-On Solus for $500 from my local dealer. I would check those avenues for a good scan tool. Tech2's are expensive, if even available.

  10. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It turned out my problem was two separate issues. One, my exhaust downpipe kept coming loose, fucking with the back pressure. Tightening that down eliminated the overall poor running. @importsdontlikeme brought his fancy snap on computer to TOTD to scan and found the IAT values were all over the place. Ended up having a bad connector for that sensor. Soldered in a 'new' one and she runs pretty well now. Building the raspberry pi data logger linked above is on the to do list, although I have been looking into getting a megasquirt which would eliminate the scanning issue (i think) among other things.

  11. Likes importsdontlikeme liked this post
  12. #10
    6S Moderator S.Bretz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Lutz, Fl
    Posts
    15,194
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Obd 1 you can jumper a couple of the pins on the data connetor and get the codes to flash. I don't remember the pins so you will need to google it or look in youtube.
    -6S Resident Mechanical Forensics member #001.
    1995 SC2 Turbo 3.6L DOHC, 6sp manual, Ford 8.8 rearend running on MS3x.
    1998 F-250 5.4L triton...stock.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •