Close

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Rough Idle?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Rough Idle?

    I just got my car running and I think its got a miss. However, this is my first non-tock build so I could be wrong. It's essentially a deebs motor with the twin intake mod. Head was shaved 40 thousands. No SES light. When you rev it, it smooths out. If it is rough...any thoughts as to where I should look?

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Byc...ew?usp=sharing

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, ppl over on fb are saying the guide is wrong. I should have shifted two teeth,not one. No where on here is there a ref to that...

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, so I'm an idiot. Turns out i had a fairly big exhaust dp leak as well as a vacuum leak. Got those situated and it's running much smoother now.

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, so it still runs like shit. I'm thinking TPS is bad. It idles great cold, as soon as it goes closed loop it starts to lope. Off idle, it runs really strong but if I hold the rpms steady the SES light comes on. Change rpms and the light goes away. Gonna end up troubleshooting this thing on the road....lol

  5. #5
    siris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,244
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Without live data your throwing darts Ithe dark.
    72 Charger: pissed me off, on jackstands.
    95 SW1m: Dohc swap. DD. I can haz boost?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Oswego, NY
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by siris View Post
    Without live data your throwing darts Ithe dark.
    Is a tech 2 the only way to scan odb1? I have a Bluetooth scanner for odb2 that i use the torque all with. I'm pretty sure it doesn't work on older cars. I know about the paperclip trick to get codes.... don't know how to live scan...

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    siris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,244
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    72 Charger: pissed me off, on jackstands.
    95 SW1m: Dohc swap. DD. I can haz boost?

  8. Likes leadfootny liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •