Close

User Tag List

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 46 of 46
  1. #41

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    40
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I also think the car needs to relearn everything, only driven it about 5 miles, but it seems to want to stall and does stall when coming to a stop. Not all time, sometimes its great and drops back down to idle. Throttle response seems sluggish too below about 2000 rpm. I remember it being super sluggish on the old motor with 42lbs injectors running on a Greddy Emanage. Its still on the same PCM, but with an SAFC 2. Like I said I only drove it about 5 miles, so maybe it just needs a while to relearn everything.
    SATURN=SorryAboutThatUnbearableRattlingNoise

  2. #42
    6S Moderator S.Bretz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Lutz, Fl
    Posts
    15,507
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    42 lb injectors are too large for a safc to handle. You should try some 24's.

    I made 240-250 with 30's and boost on a safc.
    -6S Resident Mechanical Forensics member #001.
    1995 SC2 Turbo 3.6L DOHC, 6sp manual, Ford 8.8 rearend running on MS3x.
    1998 F-250 5.4L triton...stock.

  3. #43

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hammond , Louisiana
    Posts
    1,471
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i ran cams in a stock 3g PCM and got the same experience -

    FWIW I finally procured some pistons from wiseco - turns out the pistons still weighed comparable or less than the OEM - i wrote down the numbers, maybe paper is in my truck? anyway i am going to run crower rods, too. its interesting being able to followup on posts years later! haha

  4. #44

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    40
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Old motor was 42lb injectors and stock cams. Now it's on stockers with American Custom Cams stage 2 cams. It does seems a little better after driving it more.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    SATURN=SorryAboutThatUnbearableRattlingNoise

  5. #45
    6S Moderator S.Bretz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Lutz, Fl
    Posts
    15,507
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have a larger cam in it the lower end will be less enthusiastic about getting the car moving.
    -6S Resident Mechanical Forensics member #001.
    1995 SC2 Turbo 3.6L DOHC, 6sp manual, Ford 8.8 rearend running on MS3x.
    1998 F-250 5.4L triton...stock.

  6. Likes importsdontlikeme liked this post
  7. #46

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    40
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know the cams will lose some power down low, but this feels like how the car was on 42lb injectors and supercharged, has nothing for power just accelerating normal. Also still having idle/drivability issues. When the car is cold it will run/idle fine. AFR at idle will be around 12, throttle response isn't bad. Once you put the car under load just driving normal it will feel like its pulling a ton of timing and doesn't really want to move. Idle will be super lean anywhere from 15 to maxing out the gauge at 20. Will also randomly want to stall, and throttle response is terrible. Has a Geo Storm GSI with a BRP 4in intake, not sure if that would make any sort of difference? I put the stock throttle body back on with the bigger intake, still ran the same.

    So far I've done the following:
    Smoked the car for vacuum leaks
    Replaced the coolant temp sensor (fans turn on like normal now, didn't before)
    Replaced the plug for the MAP and replaced the MAP itself
    Changed out the IAC
    Tried a different PCM
    Checked vacuum at idle, its around 12hg

    TPS is reading .4 volts at idle 0% throttle, MAP is showing 2.68v at idle which is super high. Should be around 1v correct? I checked and made sure it was getting 5v with the key on not running.
    SATURN=SorryAboutThatUnbearableRattlingNoise

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •