User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Loss of power, misfires

Hey guys!

I am new to Saturns, and my 93 sw2 is actually the first one Saturn I've owned and worked on.

So recently my wagon has developed a misfire. Giving any throttle over maybe 25% will just cause the engine to pop and backfire and not accelerate.

Now the car had sat for a while before I bought it, probably about a year. I've changed all of the fluids and everything and plan on changing the spark plugs soon as well.

I'm guessing the popping and misfiring is just down to a clogged fuel filter or old spark plugs, but as I'm kinda new to working on my own car and new to Saturns, I just wanted to get outside advice from people more knowledgeable on these cars to see if maybe there is something else i'm glossing over.

I did a quick search through old forum posts, but I am at work and couldn't really check that deeply. The main thing that puts me off is there's no CEL. It's been running like this for almost a week now. I haven't really done any other mods than just changing the muffler for a slightly louder one, but like I said the popping is on throttle, so its not just the engine braking backfire and such.

Any help is appreciated, and if this is common or something I missed in my quick search then I am sorry for the redundant post.

Really looking forward to becoming a part of this awesome community!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome! I would first check plugs and wires. I'm mot postive on first gens , but second gens usually need the coolant temp. sensor upgraded to the brass tip one. Another item to check is the catalytic converter. Make sure you are getting fuel and spark to each cylinder. Do this first pull each plug wire one at a time and see if there is any difference. You should feel it run rough. Replace it and check the next one! Good luck.

Sent from my LG-H700 using Tapatalk